

# **Council Assembly Extraordinary Meeting**

MINUTES of the Council Assembly (Extraordinary Meeting) held on Wednesday November 4 2009 at 10.08pm (at the rise of the Council Assembly [Ordinary Meeting]) at Southwark Town Hall, Peckham Road, London SE5 8UB

#### PRESENT:

The Worshipful the Mayor for 2009-10, Councillor Jeff Hook (Chair)

Councillor Anood Al-Samerai Councillor Alison McGovern Councillor James Barber Councillor Tim McNally Councillor Paul Bates Councillor Kirsty McNeill Councillor Jonathan Mitchell Councillor Columba Blango Councillor Fiona Colley Councillor Abdul Mohamed Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle Councillor Adele Morris Councillor Toby Eckersley Councillor Gordon Nardell Councillor Mary Foulkes OBE Councillor Wilma Nelson Councillor John Friary Councillor David Noakes Councillor Mark Glover Councillor Paul Noblet Councillor Aubyn Graham Councillor Chris Page

Councillor James Gurling
Councillor Barrie Hargrove
Councillor Robin Crookshank Hilton
Councillor Michelle Holford
Councillor Caroline Pidgeon
Councillor Sandra Rhule
Councillor Michelle Holford
Councillor Lewis Robinson

Councillor Michelle Holford
Councillor David Hubber
Councillor Kim Humphreys
Councillor Helen Jardine-Brown
Councillor Peter John
Councillor Jenny Jones
Councillor Lewis Robinson
Councillor Jane Salmon
Councillor Martin Seaton
Councillor Mackie Sheik
Councillor Tayo Situ
Councillor Jenny Jones
Councillor Bob Skelly

Councillor Susan Elan Jones
Councillor Paul Kyriacou
Councillor Jelil Ladipo
Councillor Adedokun Lasaki
Councillor Lorraine Lauder MBE
Councillor Susan Elan Jones
Councillor Robert Smeath
Councillor Althea Smith
Councillor Nick Stanton
Councillor Richard Thomas
Councillor Dominic Thorncroft

Councillor Evrim Laws
Councillor From Councillor Veronica Ward
Councillor Richard Livingstone
Councillor Linda Manchester
Councillor Lorraine Zuleta

Councillor Eliza Mann

## 1. PRELIMINARY BUSINESS

## 1.1 ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE MAYOR, MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE OR CHIEF EXECUTIVE

There were no announcements.

#### 1.2 NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE MAYOR DEEMS URGENT

There was no urgent business.

#### 1.3 DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

There were no declarations of interest.

#### 1.4 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillors Denise Capstick, Danny McCarthy, Olajumoke Oyewunmi, Lisa Rajan and Nick Vineall.

## 2. OTHER REPORTS

## 2.1 CHANGES TO THE EXECUTIVE ARRANGEMENTS REQUIRED UNDER THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT IN HEALTH ACT 2007

Report: See pages 1-10 of the main agenda

In accordance with council assembly procedure rule 2.10(2) the Mayor formally moved the recommendations contained within the report.

There were three questions to the report. The leader answered two supplemental questions. The questions and answers will appear as Appendix 1 to the minutes.

Councillor Fiona Colley, seconded by Councillor Paul Bates, moved Amendment A.

Following debate (Councillors John Friary and Kim Humphreys), Councillor Linda Manchester, seconded by Councillor David Hubber moved that the question be put. The procedural motion was put to the vote and declared to be carried.

Amendment A was put to the vote and declared to be lost.

Councillor Nick Stanton, seconded by Councillor Kim Humphreys, moved Amendment B.

Following debate (Councillor Peter John), Amendment B was put to the vote and declared to be <u>carried</u>.

During the debate on the substantive motion (Councillors Richard Thomas, Barrie Hargrove, Richard Livingstone, David Hubber, Dominic Thorncroft, James Barber and

David Noakes), Councillor Nick Stanton made a point of personal explanation.

Councillor Nick Stanton exercised his right of reply after which the substantive motion was put to the vote and declared to be carried.

## **RESOLVED:**

- 1. That the proposals for changes to the governance arrangements attached to the report at Appendix A be noted.
- 2. That the proposals to change executive arrangements be adopted.
- 3. That the changes to the constitution set out in Appendices B and C of the report are to take effect on the third day after the local government elections 2010.
- 4. That the following change be made to Appendix B (see page 6 of agenda) in Article 6.4 Other executive members after "The leader also has the discretion to change the membership of executive committees during the course of the year."

## Insert:

"Before the leader removes a member of the executive he/she will consult with the deputy leader."

The meeting closed at 10.48 pm.	
CHAIR:	
DATED:	